Friday , 27 January 2023

Positive news of the establishment of the Greek National Accessibility Authority

The EESA welcomes the Prime Minister's decision to set up the National Accessibility Authority, established by Law 4780/2021 (A' 30), in the context of the implementation of the overall National Action Plan for Persons with Disabilities.

He was 21.η August 2019, when the President of the EESAM Ioannis Vardakastanis had proposed the establishment of the Authority, which was a timeless request of the wheelchair movement, in a meeting with Prime Minister Mitsotakis. The law of its establishment has now been passed and today the names of the people who will make up it have been announced. This is a very important development for the wheelchair movement if its work proceeds effectively and effectively.

The National Accessibility Authority will be an advisory body of the State with the aim of promoting universal access for people with disabilities in all areas of human activity. The establishment of the Authority is an innovative action of decisive importance for the wheelchair movement, highlighting the importance and position of accessibility on the agenda of modern policies that the Greek State is now called upon to pursue in the afterthing of an economic and health crisis.

The announcement of the Prime Minister's office with the names:

'By decision of Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis, the National Accessibility Authority established by Law 4780/2021 (A' 30) is established, within the framework of the implementation of the overall National Action Plan for Persons with Disabilities, and consists of twelve members, as follows:

Scientists of known standing

(a) six scientists of known standing in areas related to the mission and responsibilities of the Authority or citizens whose activity is linked to the access of persons with disabilities to education, culture, the arts, sport, work, entrepreneurship and information, three of whom are disabled, one appointed as President and one as First Vice-President; ,

(b) a scientist of known standing in areas related to the mission and responsibilities of the Authority, selected by the National Confederation of Persons with Disabilities (E.S.A.M.A.), as Second Vice-President;

(c) a representative of the E.S.A.M.A.;

(d) a representative of the Association of the Regions of Greece;

(e) a representative of the Central Association of Municipalities of Greece;

(f) the Chairman of the National Commission on Human Rights;

(g) the Ombudsman or Assistant Advocate appointed by him.

According to the announcement of the Press Office of the Prime Minister in place of the President of the Authority, dr. Konstantinos Stefanidis, professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Crete. 1st Vice-President of the Authority is appointed Dr. Eleftheria Bernidakis -Aldus, Ph.D. of Johns Hopkins University, and 2nd Vice-President, Mrs. Marily Christofi, Surveyor Engineer, Accessibility Expert for People with Disabilities.

Check Also

Joint pie cutting of Greek Olympians and Paralympians!

Olympians and Paralympians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *