Thursday , 23 March 2023

New leadership in the Cyprus Olympic Committee

On Monday, October 19, 2020, the 40th General Assembly of the Cyprus Olympic Committee was held, which was also an Election. Officials and members of the new Executive Board for the Olympic cycle 2020-2024 have emerged from the electoral process.

Mr. Giorgos Chrysostomou was elected to the Presidency of the Executive Board by 20 votes to 14 received by his candidate Christos Triantafyllidis. One ballot was white. Mr. Chrysostomou is the 6th President in the history of the SOPRANO, and succeeds Mr Dino Michaelides in the Presidency. Mr. Giotis Ioannidis was elected as Vice-President by 19 votes, compared with 15 votes received by his deputy, Mr. Michalis Wines. One ballot was white. Mr Andreas Georgiou was elected as Secretary-General by 20 votes to 15 received by outgoing Secretary-General Charalambos Lotta. In the position of Treasurer, Mr. Alexandros Christoforou was elected without a candidate. The seven Members of the Executive Board were subsequently elected. There were 15 nominations and from the process were elected Andreas Theophylaktou (23), Sotos Trikomitis (18), Pavlos Georgiadis (18), Georgios Apostolos (17), Dimitris Leontis (17), Georgios Papageorgiou (17) and Odysseus Patsalidis (17).

Check Also

New project for women in the framework of the Festival "The Reflection of Disability in Art"

"The Reflection of Disability in Art"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *