Friday , 22 September 2023

The awards 'Olympic Laurels' by the Polish Olympic Committee

The “Olympic Laurels” is one of the Polish Olympic Committee’s most prestigious awards, first established in 1967. The award is granted every 4 years in different fields of creativity and the arts. This year, the 14th Polish Olympic Laurels were celebrated under the Patronage of the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage. POC President Andrzej Kraśnicki welcomed participants at the Olympic House in Warsaw last Tuesday and, together with IOC Member and POC 1st Vice President Ms Irena Szewińska, awarded the Olympic Laurels, which are in the form of a medal.

The awards were granted in 3 categories: Gold Olympic Laurels to Mr Wojciech Zabłocki, architect and Olympic medallist in sabre, for his distinguished career as an architect. Silver Olympic Laurels to Mr Szymon Sikora, an accredited photographer since Beijing 2008; author of the photo cycle entitled “Union of Colour and Movement”. Special Polish Olympic Committee Awards went, among others, to Ms Justyna Szubert-Kotomska, admired TV journalist who is famous and appreciated for very detailed reports devoted to Olympism and sport. She is the author of the document called: “Rio. City without God”.

Check Also

Meeting of the President of the HOC with the new Ambassador of France to Greece


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *