Thursday , 25 April 2024

The new head of the Olympic Movement in Great Britain

The 43 members of the National Olympic Committee (NOC) of Great Britain have voted to elect Sir Hugh Robertson, replacing current incumbent Lord Sebastian Coe. A highly respected figure in sport, having served previously as Minister for Sport and The Olympics, Robertson played a pivotal role in the delivery of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, and more recently the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Robertson, current BOA Vice-Chairman, stood against Richard Leman and following his success will serve a four-year term as BOA Chairman. He succeeds Lord Coe, who will now concentrate on his presidency of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), after four years in the post.

Check Also

Start for the National Wheelchair Tennis Championship

Wheelchair tennis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *