Monday , 15 July 2024

The Germans vote for their Flagbearer for the Rio Olympics!

For the first time ever, fans and German athletes have been invited to vote on who will carry the German flag at the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games. From 424 nominated athletes for Rio 2016, the German National Olympic Committee has selected five as potential flagbearers for the opening ceremony on 5 August. The five athletes are all veteran Olympians who will be looking to add to their haul of medals in Rio: Timo Boll (Table tennis), Moritz Fürste (Hockey), Ingrid Klimke (Equestrian), Lena Schöneborn (Pentathlon), Kristina Vogel (Cycling).

On 23 July the German Olympic committee launched a website, where people can vote for one of the five nominated athletes. Additionally, the German athletes at Rio 2016 will vote for their flagbearer. Voting is open until 23:59 on 2 August (German time). Until now the German delegation has always selected the flagbearer. The winner of the vote will be officially announced on 4 August in Germany House in the Barra da Tijuca district of Rio de Janeiro.

Check Also

The presentation of the Cyprus Olympic team for Paris 2024


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *